/ /

Knowledge Base - View, Creation & Editing

Updated last month

An article is a document containing essential information about your company’s products, services, and processes. The objective is to assist customers in resolving common queries by referring to the information in articles, enabling them to find solutions independently rather than relying on ticketing or speaking to agents.

Users with edit rights can create new articles and modify existing ones

editing the article with imp info - policy update

Article management

To view articles, go to Settings > Knowledge Base. Here you can see all articles. Filters can be applied to make bulk updates on existing articles.

Create an article

To create a new article, do the following:

  1. Go to Settings > Support > Knowledge Base and click +Article. Give the article a title and description.

  2. Select one of the following options:

    • Write a new article using the rich-text editor.

    • Add a link to an existing article hosted on a website. When selected, this link should redirect to the source in a new browser tab, ensuring view access to the document link.

    • Upload a file (PDF or MS Word document). Selecting a PDF should open the source in a new browser tab, while selecting a Word file should download the source, requiring the user to open it in the MS Word application.

  3. If you are writing a new article, specify additional settings for the article:

    • Part (required): Define the feature or capability the article addresses.

    • Owned by (required): Assign a singular point of contact responsible for the article, aiding in management and ownership.

    • Status: Indicate the current stage of the article.

    • Collection: Categorize the article under a topic/theme in your customer portal.

    • Visible To: Decide whether the article should be visible to all customers or only verified customers.

  4. Click Create and select whether you want to Create an article in draft mode, Submit for review, or Publish.

To ensure that the article is visible to your users, the Status of the article must be Published and the user group must be indicated in the Visible to field.

Edit article content and settings

To update the content or settings of an existing article, do the following:

  1. Go to Settings > Support > Knowledge Base and select the article you want to edit. The article opens in an additional window on top of the knowledge base view.

Select the full screen mode icon to expand the article view.

  1. Click the pen icon in the top right corner of the article to make the article editable.

  2. Make the necessary changes and click Save or Publish.

    • If you Save the article, the changes are saved as a new draft version. Edits are not be reflected in the current published version if one exists.

    • If you Publish the article, a new version is created and published, making the changes visible to your customers.

Once saved or published, the article is updated accordingly.

Delete articles

To delete an article from the knowledge base, click the bin icon next to the article in the main window. You can also select multiple articles to delete simultaneously.

You must have admin privileges to delete an article.

Bulk change options

In the main knowledge base view, you can select multiple articles to delete articles in bulk or to modify article settings, such as transitioning multiple articles from Draft to Published stage.

Status settings

  • Draft: The article isn't ready to be released to the public. You can make edits at this stage.

  • Published: The article has already been released to the public.

  • Archived: Articles that are outdated and no longer required can be removed by archiving them.

Visibility settings

Article visibility

To control who can view the articles, open the Visible to menu. This displays all external groups that the article can be shared with. By default, the following groups are available:

  • Customers: Allows public access without verification.

    Public access requires the public portal to be enabled. If the public portal is not enabled, only verified (signed-in) customers can view the article.

  • Verified Customers: Limits visibility to customers signed in to the customer portal.

  • Customer Admins: Restricts access to a subset of verified customers in the Customer Admin group. Membership in this group is managed through Settings > Customer Management > Group > Customer Admin.

    If an article is for internal use only, leave the Visible to field blank.

Storage limits for articles

  • There is no limit to the number of articles that can be created in the DevRev knowledge base.

  • Each article is stored as an artifact, with a maximum size of 250 MB per artifact.

Enable customer access for your knowledge base

To make your help center, including your knowledge base, accessible to the public, under Settings > Plug & Portal > Portal Settings, go to Help Center and enable Help Center and Public Portal.

Share an article

Once you've created an article, you have two options to share it:

  • Use Copy external link to share with your customers, allowing them to access the article directly.

  • Use Copy internal link to share with your internal organizational team members.

The ability to view the article depends on the settings for Visible to and Status that have been configured.

  • If you are sharing an external link with non-signed-in customers, the article should be visible to customers. If the Visible to option is set to Verified Customers, only signed-in customers are able to view the article.

  • When sharing an external link with customers, the article status should be Published. If it is in Draft mode, they won’t be able to view it.

Added information

Was this article helpful?
Subscribe to receive updates on this article